Individual DealMaker of the Year

DealMakers Annual Gala Awards

At the end of each year, DealMakers calls on the corporate finance industry to submit their nominations for the Individual DealMaker of the Year.

With the assistance of the independent panel, and taking into account the number of nominations each individual has received, a shortlist of 3 - 5 nominees is announced. 

Information on the shortlisted candidates is then evaluated by the Independent Panel and they select a winner based on a variety of criteria, including but not limited to:

High profile deals/transactions |   Individual's contribution to the deal  |   Execution complexity  |   Peer recognition

2020 DealMaker of the Year

Anthony Knox

Gold Medal Award

Ind DM of the Year.jpg

Anthony Knox (Merrill Lynch) has over 15 years of investment banking experience. Over the past three years Anthony has played an instrumental role in executing some of SA’s highest profile deal, the most notable being Sasol’s disposal of a 50% interest in its Lake Charles Chemicals Project, the disposal of a 34.4% stake in Alexander Forbes by Marsh & McLennan, Old Mutual’s Managed Separation and as independent expert in the unbundling of FirstRand.

Other Nominees for 2020:​

Cobus Human

Cobus Human (One Capital) has been in corporate finance for over 22 years and in 2015 was the recipient of the Individual DealMaker award for 2014. During 2020 Cobus worked on a number of noteworthy transactions including the take private of Peregrine by Capitalworks, the hostile takeover defence in relation to Quantum Foods by Country Bird and the placement of domestic medium-term notes in respect of Northam during the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Lydia Shadrach-Razzino.jpg
Lydia Shadrach-Razzino

Lydia Shadrach-Razzino (ENSafrica) has 20 years’ experience and heads up the firm’s Private Equity team and co-leads a large team in the Corporate Commercial department. During 2020 Lydia worked on several notable transactions - the acquisition of JET by The Foschini Group and the company’s R3,95 billion capital raise and the unwind by Anheuser-Busch InBev of its BEE transaction SAB Zenzele, deals which have been shortlisted in the 2020 DealMakers category awards.

2019 DealMaker of the Year

Jako van der Walt

Gold Medal sponsored by

Ind DMoY 2019.jpg
Jako van der Walt 127A4840.jpg

Other Nominees for 2019:​

Jesse Watson 127A6085.jpg

Jesse Watson

Johan Holtzhausen.jpg

Johan Holtzhausen

Kevin Trudgeon 127A4671.jpg

Kevin Trudgeon

2018 DealMaker of the Year

Martin Kingston


Gold Medal Award

Individual DealMaker of the Year
Martin Kingston (4).jpg

Neal Froneman - Sibanye-Stillwater, Steven Engelsman - Ince, Martin Kingston - Rothschild & Co, Marylou Greig - DealMakers and Sam Riley - Ansarada

Other Nominees for 2018:​

Glynn Porgieter ETHOS (1).jpg

Glynn Potgieter

Jesse Watson (1).JPG

Jesse Watson

Sainesh Vallabh (4).jpg

Sainesh Vallabh

2017 DealMaker of the Year

Neal Froneman


Gold Medal Award

Ind DealMkaers of the Year - Neal Fronem
Neal Froneman_Jan_18.jpg

Steven Engelsman (Ince) , Arie Maree (Ansarada), Neal Froneman (Sibanye-Stillwater), Richard Stewart (Sibanye-Stillwater) and Marylou Greig (DealMakers) 

Other Nominees for 2017:​

ANTHONY BAYNE Rothschild 2018 (4).jpg

Anthony Bayne

GARTH WILLIS Capital Works 2018 (3).jpg

Garth Willis


Gary Hudson

2016 DealMaker of the Year

Piet Ferreira

Gold Medal Award

Sibanye logo.jpg
Individual DealMaker of the Year.jpg
Piet ferriera.jpg

Arie Maree (Ansarada), Charl Keyter (Sibanye Gold), Michael Walters (Ince) and Flint Macgregor (Citigroup) who collected the award on behalf of Piet Ferreira (Steinhoff)

Other Nominees for 2016:​


Andrew Brooking

Richard Stout 4.jpg

Richard Stout

colin du toit WEBER WENTZEL (3).jpg

Colin du Toit

2015 DealMaker of the Year

John Gnodde

Gold Medal Award

Sibanye Au.jpg
Individual DealMaker of the Year
John Gnodde.jpg

Marylou Greig (DealMakers), Steven Engelsman (Ince), Neal Froneman (Sibanye Gold) and John Gnodde (Brait)

Other Nominees for 2015:​


Christo Els

Paul Roelofse.jpg

Paul Roelofse


Fradreck Shoko

2014 DealMaker of the Year

Cobus Human

Sibanye gold.jpg

Gold Medal Award

Ind DealMaker of the Year 2014.jpg
Cobus Human CAPITAL ONE (1).jpg

Steven Engelsman (Ince), Cobus Human (One Capital), Charl Keyter (Sibanye Gold), Daryl Wray (Cell C) and Marylou Greig (DealMakers)

Other Nominees for 2014:​

Christo Els.jpg

Christo Els

Paul Bondi ROTSCHILD (1).jpg

Paul Bondi

Clive Potter STD BANK (3).jpg

Clive Potter