Private Equity

Deal of the Year

DealMakers Annual Gala Awards

At the end of each year, DealMakers calls on the corporate finance industry to submit their nominations for PE Deal of the Year.

With the assistance of the independent panel, and taking into account the number of nominations each deal has received, a shortlist of 3 - 5 deals is announced. 

These deals are then evaluated by the Independent Panel and they select a winner based on a variety of criteria, including but not limited to:

The transformational aspects of the deal   |   The execution complexity   |   The deal size   |   The potential value creation of the deal 

2020 PE Deal of the Year 

Nominations are open.....

Nominations for the Catalyst 2020 Private Equity Deal of the Year are open.

Download the nomination criteria today and make sure your deal is included for consideration.


Please submit all nominations and queries to Marylou Greig | 082 898 5702

The Catalyst 2020 Private Equity Deal of the Year will be announced at the upcoming Ansarada DealMakers Gala Awards which will take place in Sandton during February 2021

2019 PE Deal of the Year 

Gold Medal sponsored by

Acorn Private Equity for partial exit of Bearnibbles SA

Other Nominees for 2019:​

Actis' exit of Compuscan and ScoreSharp to Experian

RMB Ventures and Bopa Moruo Fund II acquisition of Cargo Compass

Phatisa's disposal of an 85% stake in Meridian Consolidated Investments

Recapitalisation of Brait and introduction of Ethos as an equity partner

2018 PE Deal of the Year 

Other Nominees for 2018:​

Community Investment Ventures Holdings (CIVH) acquisition of Vumatel

Gold Medal Award

Carlyle Group's acquisition of Tessara from RMB Ventues

Ethos acquisition of SoftBev for the Beverage Company 

Neal Froneman - Sibanye-Stillwater, Sam Riley - Ansarada, Jessica Spira - Rand Merchant Bank, Michael Avery - Catalyst, Marylou Greig - DealMakers and Gareth Armstrong - Rand Merchant Bank

2017 PE Deal of the Year 

Gold Medal Award

Disposal by Capitalworks of Much Asphalt 

Other Nominees for 2017:​

Standard Charted Private Equity and Development Capital Partners sale of their 72% stake in Kamoso Distribution to a consortium led by Investec Asset Management and RMB Ventures

The acquisition by Capitlworks of Sovereign Food Investments 

Arie Maree (Ansarada),Garth Willis (Capitalworks), Neal Froneman (Sibanye-Stillwater) and Michael Avery (Catalyst)

2016 PE Deal of the Year 

Disposal by Actis of Tekkie Town to Steinhoff

Other Nominees for 2016:​

Gold Medal Award

African Rainbow Capital for Afrimat

Ethos for Eazi Group

Rockwood for Tsebo

Arie Maree (Ansarada),Charl Keyter (Sibanye Gold), Michael Avery (Catalyst) and David Cook (Actis)

2015 PE Deal of the Year 

Other Nominees for 2015:​

Disposal by Ethos of Plumblink to Bidvest

Gold Medal Award

Ethos for the Nampak divisions

Old Mutual PE For MoreCorp

Actis for Food Lovers Market

Jos van Zyl (Ethos), Arie Maree (Ansarada), Stephen Dearing (Ansarada) and Neal Froneman (Sibanye Gold)

2014 PE Deal of the Year 

Other Nominees for 2014:​

Acquisition by Actis of Compuscan

Ethos for Tiger Automotive 

Actis for Tekkie Town 

Vantage Capital for Surfline Communications

RMB Ventures and Bopu Moruo for One Digital Media

Ali Mazanderani (Actis), Daryl Wray (Cell C), Charl Keyter (Sibanye Gold) and Michael Avery (Catalyst)

Gold Medal Award